The Leaders of the New Cool

Artist Profile: Dom Kennedy

Posted on: October 20, 2009

Photobucket

Dom Kennedy graced the streets of Los Angeles in 2008 with the release of his debut project, entitled 25th Hour. The Leimert Park native made a name for himself by performing at various events and venues including the popular Sneaker Pimps Tour and the world famous House of Blues. The amazing response to his live shows ignited his ambitions to self-produce, distribute and promote the classic 25th Hour mix-tape. Dom followed up in the spring of 2009 with the independent release of FutureStreet/DrugSounds, an all-original project that elevated him to a nation-wide audience.

“Leimert Park, what’s cool?” Dom says, “Is a common theme used in my music to show the significance of the neighborhood that birthed me.” Dom’s responsibility to the youth is what drives his dedication to Hip-Hop. “I’m probably the best Kennedy after Bobby…” Dom puts in plain words and explains, this “…shows the connection I feel with being a leader and someone people can look up to in the future to speak for generations, always with style and presence.”
“I know what rap did for me when I was younger and how it affected me and a chance to do that and give it back—I had to.” Dom Kennedy speaks about his feeling of obligation to the youth. “When I would listen to Outkast, it would take me right to the streets of Savannah, GA where I could almost feel myself riding in a Cadillac with Big Boi and Andre 3000. Or LL Cool J, who made me feel like I was on a stoop in Queens. It gave me that sense of security, that acceptance, as if I was apart of something. Its beyond important for the kids today to see that they can do it too, I don’t mind being the example.”

Dom’s main objective is to make his mark in Hip-Hop so that his music lives on. Dom Kennedy has been verbally endorsed by many, including The Hundreds, Kenny Burns, Rick Ross and Taz Arnod of Sa-Ra just to name a few. Where a career in music was once a dream, it has now become a reality.

For more info, including downloads and other footage of Dom Kennedy, click the link below!
http://www.dopeitsdom.com/

Leave a Reply

